Skip to content

Where is England????

November 30, 2011

“Where do you come from?” asks a young man from Talanca in Honduras. When I said England I saw no noticeable response. I persisted for a while and spoke about being a long way away, taking me two days to get there, having flown in an aeroplane to get there…still very little response. As I was on the church’s grounds and had watched them play football I took a risk and mentioned Machester United…that was the key. Immediately I got a run down on the latest standing of the top six clubs in the Premier League. They knew about Newcastle and even Sunderland, places like Wigan and Celtic, places that they may have no idea where they were but they could identify with. Places where Honduras football players had played or were playing. The football game that followed made an interesting backdrop to the conversation I had with the pastor on the challenges faced by this community and how the Methodist Church in Honduras is responding to them

Tom Quenet

_sam7451

From → Posts

One Comment
  1. Paul Collins permalink

    It is the same the world over…Love and football are the international language.

Leave a comment